St. Vincent de Paul High School’s debate team is nationally ranked in the top 10% of debate programs in the United States among schools of all sizes.  This year, the SVHS team (nearly 70 students strong!) is continuing that success at tournaments all over the country.

 NATIONAL CIRCUIT DEBATE: SV took over the Cal State Long Beach Invitational at the end of September. In Varsity policy debate, David Kilpatrick & Ricky Young WON THE WHOLE TOURNAMENT earning their first bid of the year to the Tournament of Champions! David was also top speaker! Sydney Griggs & Josh Martin were 5-1 in prelims, won their Octos debate and were only eliminated when the bracket forced the two SV teams still in to hit each other. Josh was also named 9th speaker, Ricky was 13th and Sydney was 20th. With winning records and missing elim rounds on points only: Luz Lopez & Fiona Duffy AND Keelin Dober & Tavia Vitkauskas. In JV Policy, Becca Grant & Gwenith Isaacs broke and made it all the way to the FINAL ROUND and Becca was 2nd speaker in JV. And in novice, Henry Lane & Austin Booth broke to Octos but lost on a 2-1 split judges decision. Austin was also 5th speaker in novice. Overall the squad’s performance earned St. Vincent 3rd place out of all the schools (of all sizes) competing from the Western states.

Earlier in September, at the Wake Forest Invitational in North Carolina, David Kilpatrick & Ricky Young were 5-1 in prelims and broke to the elim debates, missing the TOC bid debate by 1 round! Lani Frazer & Tavia Vitkauskas were 4-2 and only missed advancing on speaker points while Sydney Griggs & Josh Martin only missed advancing by one debate!

 LEAGUE DEBATE: At the first GGSA league debate of the season, SV had a great showing, competing against schools from all over the Bay Area. In Varsity Policy, Nico Lamaison & Sky Doble AND Steven Weiser & JD Cox were both UNDEFEATED.   Becca Grant & Gwenith Issacs earned a WINNING RECORD in Varsity. Honorable mention for “batting .500” in Varsity goes to Keelin Dober & Tavia Vitkauskas, Anna Griffin & Brittany Gamlen, and Julia Anderson & Jocelyn Edmundson. In JV: Honorable mention to Taylor Gallagher & MJ Lozano. And in Novice Policy debate: Ian Hosbein & Adam Martin were UNDEFEATED and Marcos Hernandez & Henry Lane earned a WINNING RECORD. Honorable mention in Novice to: Alexander Dombrowski & Jack Doolittle, Allison Ramos & Kylie Clark, and Samuil Gatev & William Kennedy.

NEXT UP: This weekend, 8 Varsity debaters will compete at the Cal State Fullerton Invitational, seeking the school’s 2nd TOC bid of the year.  After that, the team heads to the University of Michigan Invitational November 1-4, then the next local league debate November 10th, and then off to Chicago November 16-19 for the Glenbrooks Invitational.